How to use Emulators on Android

This blog post is total contradiction to the title of my site, I’m not debating anything and there is nothing to debate but I figured it may be of use to some people so I’m always happy to help! Many of you will already be familiar with emulators and many of you will know exactly how to use them and which run best. I have set-up a small guide so those unfamiliar with them can have a basic understanding of how to use them safely and in line with the law. Emulators are a fairly easy task when you have the right knowledge and you can be experiencing classic gaming moments all over again for absolutely free (hoorah!) in a matter of minutes. You can of course choose to wait until your favorite game of yesteryear is re-leased on to the Play Store if you are worried about potential law breaking.

android

What you’ll need

This depends on what games you wish to play but firstly you must have an android phone (seriously!). It is also beneficial for you have a PC or Laptop to download the necessary files onto before transferring and unpacking them onto your phone. You must also be aware that although downloading emulators is legal, downloading ROMS is a grey area which generally isn’t.

Where to find the emulators and what to do next

Generally the best emulators are for 2D games, with 16-bit games being able to re-produced to near perfection. I have tried numerous 3D emulators such as those for the PSX and Saturn and found them to be a laggy, unresponsive waste of time. That being said I shall include them on the list for those who are interested as improvements are being made all the time. I shall list my top 5 emulators I found to be flawless and include further links towards the bottom for those which are still in their infancy. I use this site for downloading ROMS but like I said there are question marks about it’s legality.

1. Nesoid

Super Mario Bros 3 is a timeless classic
Super Mario Bros 3 is a timeless classic

Nesoid can be found here and is totally free. It is the smoothest of all emulators I tried and easy to install.  It works so well because early Nintendo consoles are extremely easy to emulate and therefore give the best results. The reason I previously said to use a PC is that ROMS are usually packed within a zip file which will require a computer to unzip. Once you have downloaded the necessary files from the source above it’s just a matter of transferring the files on to your phone, which is usually done by SD card. Make sure when downloading ROMS you download .nes files as these are the only files compatible and save them in the relevant folder on your phone.

2. SNesoid

Yes, it's still as good as you remember
Yes, it’s still as good as you remember

Snesoid is similar to the NES in terms of performance and can be found here. The same instructions should be taken as shown on the Nesoid although the ROMS are in .smc file format. It will play nearly all of your favorite SNES games of all time and I currently have not experienced any issues at all. Please try not to use any other site than the one I have supplied, there are many legitimate sites out there but I learnt the hard way many moons ago that a lot ain’t.

3. Gensoid

I have fond memories of this bad boy
I have fond memories of this bad boy

Yes, these names don’t get much better. This obviously emulates Genesis games or Mega Drive games depending on what region you are in. It can be downloaded here and is my personal favorite, not because it does anything better but because I grew up as a SEGA boy. Now I can play Dynamite Headdy again without building me a time machine (yay!). Files are found in either the .bin or .smd format. Standard procedure for installing the emulator and Roms apply here also.

4. N64oid ($4.99)

Mario Kart plays great on the N64oid
Mario Kart plays great on the N64oid

I told you a lie, these names are getting awesome! Of course this the N64 emulator found here which unfortunately for the tight fisted among us (like me) costs real life pennies! $4.99 to be exact but you get a stable way of playing 3D games on your mobile device for less than what you’d pay for a crap android game from the Play Store. Your phone must be of at least half decent quality to play the games on but I had no problem on a dual core phone, budget phone at the time of purchase. The N64oid is about as good as it get’s in terms of playing ‘recent’ games without problems. Get the ROMS from the link I supplied above and you’re good to go.

5. FPSe for Android ($4.99)

Spyro on my mobile phone? Yes, please.
Spyro on my mobile phone? Yes, please.

YUCK! What a terrible name for an emulator! Luckily it’s quite good. It’s a PSX emulator which is found here on the Play Store! (shock horror) and is also not free like the 2D ones listed above. Playstation games can be hit or miss when emulated so take this in to consideration is you a thinking about purchasing this app. It also may get pulled down at any point like many before it so grab it whilst you can as it’s probably the best PSX emulator around. It is not as straight forward to set-up as the others but youtube videos listed here will show you how to get the best from the emulator. Again, ROMS are found in the usual place but please watch the youtube videos first before attempting this one.

Notable Others

Atari ST – SToid (currently $0.99) here

Nintendo DS – nds4droid here -WARNING Unstable!

Saturn – Yabause here – Again not very good

Game Boy Advance – GBAoid here – Very Good!

Master System – Gearoid here – Plays Game Gear too

9 thoughts on “How to use Emulators on Android”

  1. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively helpful and it has aided me out loads.
    I am hoping to contribute & aid other users like its helped me.
    Good job.

  2. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My blog site is in the exact same area of interest
    as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot
    of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Regards!

  3. While several found out teachers have abandoned
    hope of ever before uncovering the fact behind xbox emulator for android,
    I for one feel that it is still a deserving cause for assessment.
    I locate my self constantly drawn back to the topic of xbox emulator for android.
    While it is ending up being a warm topic for discussion, it is difficult to overstate
    its effect on modern thought. It still has the power
    to stun those politicaly minded individuals living in the past, whom I can say no even
    more regarding as a result of legal limitations.
    Keep your hats as we begin a trip into xbox emulator for android.

    Social Factors

    As Shown in timeless legend society is complexed. After Peter Pinkleton-PishPosh’s return to Britain he mentioned ‘class will
    refelect the internal hero’ [1], he developed a monster which culture has
    been attempting to tame ever since. Reaching breaks down such as class, race and
    uglyness, xbox emulator for android aids to offer some
    form of stability in this globe of ever altering, constantly yearning
    turmoil.

    Status, Safety, Popularity – xbox emulator for android, all revolve around this ‘golden fleece’.
    If culture has a favored kid, it is xbox emulator for android.

    Economic Factors

    We not live in a globe which barters ‘I’ll offer
    you 3 cows for that hat, it’s wonderful.’ Our existance is a
    generation which sobs ‘Hat – $20.’ We shall analyze
    the Fish-Out-Of-Water design. For those of you
    unfamiliar with this model it is originated from the Three-Amigos version
    however with greater focus on the outlying gross national item.

    Housing
    Prices

    xbox emulator for android

    Just how do we clarify these clear styles? Plainly
    housing prices will at some point break devoid of the highly
    effective influence of xbox emulator for android, but not before we see a standardised business plan for all.
    The economic press appears unable to compose
    its thoughts on these concerns which unsettles capitalists.

    Political Factors

    Modern politics is obligated to repay considerably to
    the pet kingdom. Comparing xbox emulator for android and much of what has been written of
    it can be like contrasting chalk and cheese.

    In the words of design symbol Odysseus Rock ‘A guy
    should have his cake and eat it in order to validate his actions.’ [2] He was first presented to xbox emulator
    for android by his mom. Past informs us that xbox emulator
    for android will constantly be a ballot winner,
    whether we like it, or not.

    I hang around anxiously. Just what will the next few years bring
    for xbox emulator for android?
    Conclusion

    To conclude, xbox emulator for android has actually played a huge part in
    the development of guy in the 20th Century and its impact continues to be solid.
    It collaborates efficiently, brought up a generation and it brings the most
    effective out in individuals.

    As a parting shot below are the words of super-star Beyonce J.
    Fox: ‘In the beginning I hesitated I was petrified.
    Believing I can never live without xbox emulator for android
    by my side.’.

  4. I think that what you posted was very reasonable. But, what about this?
    suppose you wrote a catchier post title? I am not saying your information is not good, however suppose you added a post title to maybe grab a person’s attention?
    I mean How to use Emulators on Android | The Videogame Debate is kinda
    boring. You should look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write news headlines to get people interested.
    You might add a video or a related picture or two to grab readers excited about
    what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it would make your posts a little bit more interesting.

Leave a Reply

